Oriel Davies Gallery
The Park, Newtown
Powys SY16 2NZ
Telephone: +44 (0) 1686 625041
Fax: +44 (0) 1686 623633
Email: desk@orieldavies.org



We are unable to respond to phonecalls

If you urgently need to contact us: 


Accounts: accounts@orieldavies.org

Director: steffan@orieldavies.org

+44 (0)7498 570217



Gareth Griffith

18/01/20 – 01/04/20

Melvyn Evans 

20/03/20 - 18/07/20

Monday-Friday 10am-5pm
Saturday 10am-5pm



Oriel Davies Open 2014

Multiple artists

19 April 2014 - 18 June 2014

contemporary art, oriel davies, gallery, oriel open 2014

Image 1 of 7 next >   Chinese Girl by Nigel Grimmer

We are very proud and excited to announce the 60 artists who have been selected to exhibit as part of the Oriel Davies Open 2014 with individual prize-winners John Lawrence and Ruaidhri Ryan.

Selected Artists

Following the overwhelming response to our call for entries, Oriel Davies is delighted to present a superb selection of artworks by 60 artists in our largest Open ever.

Celebrating the sensibility of an Open, the exhibition features work by established artists, art students and other emerging talent, demonstrating the breadth and diversity of current artistic practice.

Exhibiting artists:

Caroline Allen, Kay Bainbridge, Jenny Baines, Kelly Best, Richard Bowers, Sasha Bowles, Jessie Brennan, Rachel Busby, Jane Cairns, Agnes Calf, Robert Cervera, David Cushway, Hannah Downing, Nisha Duggal, James Epps, Bob Gelsthorpe, Anne Gibbs, Thomas Goddard, Alastair John Gordon, Nigel Grimmer, Richard Higlett, Kathryn Hinton, Jim Howieson, Sarah Hughes, Shaun James, Neil Jones, Bernadette Kerrigan, Jin Eui Kim, John Lawrence, Sharon Leahy-Clark, Lawrence Leaman, Hywel Livingstone, Rosanna Martin, Eva Masterman, Guy Mayman, Neil McNally, Jackie Morris, Conrad Pack, Bharti Parmar, Susan Phillips, Nicole Polonsky, Chris Poolman & Elizabeth Rowe, Sara Rees, Ruaidhri Ryan, Abigail Sidebotham, Howard Silverman, Rebecca Sitar, Kristian Smith, Helen Snell, Josephine Sowden, André Stitt, Joan Sugrue, David Theobald, Charlie Godet Thomas, Clare Thornton, Alana Tyson, Paul Westcombe, Hanne Westergaard, Gwyn Williams, Maarten van den Bos.

A launch event on the opening night announced the main prize winner John Lawrence and student prize Ruaidhri Ryan, chosen by the Open 2014 selectors Deirdre Figueiredo (Director, Craftspace), Helen Legg (Director, Spike Island), Anthony Shapland (Artist & Co-Director of g39) and Alex Boyd Jones (Curator, Oriel Davies).

We would like to thank everyone who applied to this year’s Open.


1st Prize £1000 + solo exhibition awarded to John Lawrence
1st Student Prize £500 awarded to Ruaidhri Ryan
The overall 1st prize winner will also be offered a solo exhibition at Oriel Davies as well as receiving their cash prize.

People’s Choice Prize £250
Awarded to the most popular works, or collection of works, in Oriel Open 2014 as voted by the viewing public during the exhibition period. Kindly Sponsored by Newtown Station Travel



Anthony Shapland Artist and Co-director of g39, Cardiff
www.anthonyshapland.com / www.g39.org

Deidre Figueiredo MBE Director of Craftspace, Birmingham

Helen Legg Director of Spike Island, Bristol

Alex Boyd Jones Curator, Oriel Davies Gallery

See the exhibition online:



Follow us on twitter @orieldavies #OrielOpen2014

Visit us on facebook/orieldavies.org

Oriel Davies would also like to thank the generosity of Imprint, Newtown for their support of Oriel Davies Open 2014 and Newtown Station Travel for The People’s Choice prize.